Southwark

Democracy Commission

Thursday 5 August 2010 6.00 pm Southwark Town Hall

Membership

Councillor Abdul Mohamed (Chair) Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Councillor Columba Blango Councillor Mark Glover Councillor Michael Mitchell Councillor Helen Morrissey Councillor Cleo Soanes

INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS

Contact: Julie Timbrell on 020 7525 0514 or email: julie.timbrell@southwark.gov.uk Webpage: Southwark.gov.uk/democracy

Southwark

Democracy Commission

Thursday 5 August 2010 6.00 pm Southwark Town Hall

Order of Business

Item No.

Title

Page No.

1. INTRODUCTION AND WELCOME BY THE CHAIR

2. APOLOGIES

3. MINUTES OF THE LAST TWO MEETINGS (6 & 12 JULY 2010) 1 - 128

The meeting of the 12 July 2010 considered best practice from a number of authorities who had carried out similar reviews; South Tyneside, Nottingham City Council, Birmingham City Council and Bath & North East Somerset . All had reviewed their assemblies. Summaries or full reports are attached.

4. EVIDENCE FROM THE LEADERS OF THE POLITICAL GROUPS

The Labour group leader & Leader of the Council; Cllr Peter John has confirmed his attendance.

The Liberal Democrat leader; Cllr Anood Al-Samerai has confirmed her attendance.

The Conservative group may attend this meeting or present evidence at a different stage.

5. COUNCIL ASSEMBLY DECISION MAKING POWERS - 129 - 136 OPPORTUNITIES FOR CHANGE

The last meeting requested more information on what decision making powers could be transferred to the Council Assembly or delegated to other bodies; such as Community Councils.

Ian Mark; Senior Lawyer, Governance Team will attend to take questions.

6. FEEDBACK ON FOCUS GROUPS AND QUESTIONNAIRES

Item No.

7. PLANNING OUT THE CONFERENCE ON SATURDAY 4 SEPTEMBER

8.	YOUTH COUNCIL ENGAGEMENT	153
9.	WORK PLAN	154 - 157

Date: 27 July 2010